2013

it seems like just yesterday we were ringing in 2013. perhaps this is because my total posts here equaled just three (three!) for the past year. or, maybe it’s because 2013 was one of the busiest on record for me, filled with a number of milestones. regardless, as I take time to look back, I can’t help but smile. while no year is without its ups and downs, I am continually grateful that my life is filled with amazing people, opportunities, adventures and experiences. and, while I failed miserably to record it here, 2013 was in fact a pretty kick-ass year.

homeownership. yep, that’s right — I’m a homeowner. and, not only am I a homeowner, but one that is so in love with her new neighborhood that she wonders how she got so lucky to call this place her home. it’s been almost a year since I closed on my place and, while admittedly I did have some separation issues at first around leaving downtown, I couldn’t be happier with my decisions. plus, I NEVER have to move again unless I choose to. oh, and paying an exorbitant amount of rent the seemed to increase a ridiculous amount each year? no longer a problem. *happy sigh*

friendships and family. one of the highlights of 2013 was spending time with family members who I hadn’t seen in more than a decade. a trip to Arkansas in the fall provided a long-overdue reunion with four of my favorite cousins. the same trip enabled me to explore the area with a new friend, who despite meeting just seven months ago, has fast become a close friend and one of my favorite people. owning a house and thus having more than one bedroom has enabled me to more easily play host and I enjoyed doing so for a number of guests over the past year. and, I would be remiss if I didn’t include the weddings and new babies for many good friends among the highlights of my year. I am continually grateful for all the wonderful individuals who I am lucky to count among my friends and family.

adventures. as in years past, 2013 brought with it a number of travels and adventures, both to places I’ve been and those that were new: South Carolina, multiple trips to Chicago, Nashville,  New Mexico, Philadelphia, Washington D.C. and South Dakota. a special trip this year with one of my best friends provided much desired bonding time as well as an amazing experience at Kripalu, a yoga-based retreat in the Berkshires. in addition to Kripalu, our list of places visited included New York, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, Connecticut, Massachusetts and Rhode Island.

career and school. although the past year brought its fair share of challenges in the area of career and school, I ended the year with a list of accomplishments that I’m proud of, not the least of which was completing my project management studies at the University of Denver. the days in which I enjoy my job outnumber those that I don’t and my position continues to provide challenges and rewards. for this, I am grateful.

giving back. it is no secret that volunteering and giving back  are quite important for me. from my past work with the Jaycees, current involvement with Planned Parenthood and other small endeavors, doing my part to better our world is a personal priority. the past year brought a new and exciting opportunity to serve as a board member for the Denver VOICE. although it’s only been a few months since I joined the board, the people I’ve met and the heartwarming stories I’ve heard from our vendors have confirmed what an amazing organization it is and I couldn’t be more excited to be a part of it.

lessonsthere have been many of these and I continue to be grateful for those times when things don’t go quite as anticipated, for without this, our lives would be void of lessons. it is up to us to learn and grow from these lessons.

milestones.  six years in Denver. six years at Tri-State. 33rd birthday. PM program completed. homeownership.

music. the list of reasons I love Denver is lengthy, but one attribute that tops the list is the music scene. and while I may not have taken advantage of the musical offerings to the extent I have in years past, I did find the time to take in a enjoy a few shows and even made it out to Red Rocks a time or two.

looking forward. while I am grateful for all that 2013 brought – both the good and the bad – I am ready to bid it adieu and begin the journey that is 2014. I spent the morning writing out my list of intentions and goals for 2013 and I look forward working through them as the year progresses. here’s to wishing all a very happy New Year and a 2014 that brings much happiness to you and yours.

Be well. ~N

2 responses to “refections on 2013”

Leave a comment

I’m Nicole

Trajectory of Life celebrates living purposefully with curiosity, courage and simplicity as guides. I use the blog to document this philosophy through writing about my adventures in reading, travel, cooking, photography, fitness, being a dog mom, minimalism, sustainability, living childfree by choice, marriage and setting and meeting life goals. As someone new-ish to the Bay Area, the blog is also where I share tips for things to do in San Francisco as we explore this new city of ours.

Let’s connect